Our Region

The Inland Sea

About 100 Million years ago much of central Queensland and Parts of New South Wales and South Australia were covered by a shallow inland sea. This area is now called the Great Artesian basin.

Download Brochure


A bioregion is an area constituting a natural ecological community with characteristic flora, fauna, and environmental conditions and bounded by natural rather than artificial borders.

Throughout Queensland there are 13 different bioregions. Within the Flinders Shire four of these bioregions can be found. To the northeast is the Einasleigh Uplands and to the northwest is the Gulf Plains, to the south is Mitchell Grass Downs and to the Southeast are the Desert uplands.

Download Brochure